12/08/2017 10:45 AM PST

Federal Government Declares Emergency in Response to California Counties Affected by Wildfires

The federal government declared an emergency Friday morning in response to the wildfires that have devastated Southern California this week. The declaration covers San Diego, Los Angeles, Riverside, Santa Barbara and Ventura counties, over a time period starting Dec. 4. 

The action helps cover the costs of firefighting and other emergency protective actions in response to the wildfires.

For the latest emergency updates in English and Spanish, visit www.sdcountyemergency.com, and download the SD Emergency app. If you are affected by the fire and need to talk to someone by phone about evacuations, shelters, road closures and other non-emergency disaster-related services, call 211. If you are hearing impaired, dial 711 and ask to be connected to (858) 300-1211.